Sunday, October 15, 2017

Halal Vs Kosher, Thee Foods Are More Similar Than Different





"Halal” is an Arabic word meaning lawful or permissible. Halal food is food permitted for consumption according to the Islamic dietary law as dictated by the Quran. Foods that is not permissible is called haram meaning unlawful or prohibited.

The word” Kosher”, meaning proper or fit, originates from the Hebrew word “Kashrut”. Food that conforms to the Kashrut, the Jewish Dietary law is said to be kosher and fine for consumption. Kosher laws are derived from the Torah.

These dietary laws don't just restrict themselves to a the specifics of a type of food, but also include how the food is prepared for consumption, and what other food can or cannot be eaten in combination with it.

Meat Guidelines
Permissible Meat
According to Islamic law only certain types of meat are considered to be clean for consumption:

All Cattle
Sheep
Goats
Camels
All types of buck
Rabbits
Fish
Locusts
All animals other than fish and locust are considered halal only when they are slaughtered according to certain guidelines.

Which foods are kosher?
Kosher law disallows eating some animals; and for those that may be eaten, there are rules for how to slaughter and which part of the animal may be eaten. The following are permitted:

Animals that have hooves split in two and chew the cud. e.g., cows, sheep, goats and deer are kosher. Other animals — like rabbits, pigs, dogs, squirrels, cats, bears, horses and camels — are not kosher.
Birds like chicken, goose, duck, turkey and even pigeons are kosher. Predatory and scavenger birds are not kosher.
Fish that have fins and scales like tuna, salmon, carp, herring, flounder and pike.
Forbidden Meat

Islamic law prohibits certain animals and meat products to be haram or unlawful:

Meat not slaughtered according to Islamic Law
Animals whose blood is not fully drained.
Pig and other by products.
Donkey & Mule
Dead animals
Carnivorous animals
Birds of Prey
Any marine animals except for fish.
Amphibians
All Insects except for Locust.
Animal Blood & Reproductive organs
Pancreas & Gall Bladder


The following animals and meat products are not considered kosher according to Jewish Dietary law:

Animals not slaughtered according to Jewish law.
Animals whose blood is not fully drained.
Camel
Pig
Rabbit/Hare
Predatory and Scavenger birds
Shellfish, catfish, sturgeon, swordfish, lobster, shellfish, crabs and all water mammals
Rodents
Reptiles and amphibians
Milk, eggs, fat, organs obtained from prohibited animals.
Slaughter Guidelines
Meat is considered to be halal if it is clean, lawful and slaughtered with certain guidelines:

The slaughterer should be Muslim.
The animal should be prayed over before slaughter.
The knife must be sharp to minimize pain.
The throat of the animal is cut and the knife may not be lifted before the cut is complete.
The Trachea, Esophagus and both jugular veins must be severed or at least three of the four arteries must be severed for the meat to be Halal.
All the blood should be drawn from the animal.

For meat to be kosher, the animal is slaughtered following certain guidelines:

The “Shochet “or slaughterer should be Jewish with knowledge of Jewish laws.

The slaughter should be a quick, deep stroke with no nicks.
All blood should be drawn from the animal.

The lungs of the animal are inspected to make sure there are no defects to deem the meat Kosher.
Kosher and Halal Certification

Halal certification agencies like the Islamic Food and Nutrition Council of America ensure that halal certified food is widely available in the United States.

Kosher certified food is widely available with certifications conducted by various agencies spread across the United States.

No comments:

Post a Comment